Share |

Papatango New Writing Prize Adds Commission for Follow-Up Play to Award – Submissions Open Today until 31 March 2016

Published by: Carolin Kopplin on 9th Dec 2015 | View all blogs by Carolin Kopplin


The Papatango New Writing Prize, now in its eighth incarnation, opens for submissions today, 9 December 2015, until midnight on 31 March 2016.  

The Papatango Prize is the UK’s only annual opportunity guaranteeing a new writer full production, publication, and a royalty of 10% of the gross box office. 

Papatango are now announcing a major expansion to the Prize: from 2016; the winning writer will also receive a £6000 commission and full developmental support from Papatango to enable them to progress to a second play. 

Papatango’s George Turvey and Chris Foxon explain the reasoning behind this commitment: 

When the Prize started in 2009, we were the only opportunity promising to take the risk of production, publication and fee on a new writer. Now, adding a full commission for a follow-up play is another step forward in publicly backing new writers.”  

The winning play will run at Southwark Playhouse from 2 November – 26 November 2016, published by Nick Hern Books. It will be Papatango’s second year at Southwark Playhouse, following the world premiere of the 2015 Papatango New Writing Prize winner Tomcat by James Rushbrooke, nominated for Off West End Awards for Best New Play, Best Female Performance and Best Male Performance. James Rushbrooke describes the experience: 

Winning the Prize has had a huge impact on my life. It has directly led to me being signed by an agent, being approached by TV companies, and being nominated for an Off West End Award for Best New Play. The support, guidance and encouragement given by the Papatango team has been exemplary and they have helped me every step of the way. To have something that only existed in your head come to life so vividly and be shared so widely is a both an empowering and magical process - that magic has been provided by the Papatango team.” 

Entries should be at least 80 minutes in length, original and previously unproduced, and entered anonymously as Microsoft Word or PDF files to by midnight, 31 March 2016.  

Further information:


1 Comment

  • Cameron Lowe
    by Cameron Lowe 2 years ago
    Thanks for this exciting news, Carolin.
Please login or sign up to post on this network.
Click here to sign up now.